• Nudges
  • Posts
  • There is no right way (Misery of expert advice)

There is no right way (Misery of expert advice)

Sitting in my small room in 2020, as a 20-year-old kid just graduated from college I was trying to find a lot of answers on the Internet.

The uncomfortable realization that there is no one path unlike until college, made me anxious and restless!

Internet was constantly providing me comfort from the information it holds for every curiosity I had.

Not one, two, or three videos or articles but I found countless resources in every format one could consume information from.

I could feel the weird oscillation of my feelings going from the comfort of knowing things I was curious about to information leaving me confused.

My novice brain was looking for steps that it could follow and for the first time in my life, there were no steps.

However, the zoomed-in search of any question I had, revealed the steps that one would need

BUT…

For the first time I asked myself - Am I even asking the right question?

I asked - what should be the question? And to that internet opened the world for me - It said you can ask any question!

Weirdly my brain did not like the abundance of choices the Internet offered because:

  • It was never given a free conscious choice until college

  • I was afraid of picking one because uncertainty was free with every choice.

Eventually, I picked some questions that at the time intrigued me the most

  • What is digital marketing?

  • How to become a creator?

  • How to grow on Instagram?

I just had one goal - To get good at recording videos and presenting myself on social media.

As I zoomed in - the creators of the internet guided me with all their experience

BUT…

A new problem occurred - there were too many of them who could help me. I had questions I wanted to ask but there were too many different answers.

Now I understand - “THERE IS NO RIGHT WAY”

There is no right way, there is a right way for you, and no creator, mentor, or guru can tell you that.

Your self-image, beliefs, your experiences are different from everyone and so you have to create your unique way.

You will admire people who have achieved what you want to achieve but still, their knowledge will be of little use.

The right approach is to find people you aspire to be like, understand the fundamentals and first principles of anything you are trying to do from their advice, and then build your own life, principles, and theories on top of it!

Now you could say I don’t want to build my principles and just want to blindly follow what people I aspire to be like tell me - Well, good luck doing that!

Anyone who is telling you nuance and detail about anything comes from their subjective experience. It might give you the illusion of expertise but when you apply it in your journey you will see little to no result and you will be shocked.

Let me repeat this and give you a framework:

  • Find things that make you curious

  • Set an execution goal to feed your curiosity

  • Start executing with what you know

  • Learn from the internet when you get stuck

  • Focus on fundamentals

  • Build your theories and run new experiments

  • And once you reach a goal never tag yourself as an expert and help people with the fundamentals so you can help someone like you!

Life is like creating a statue with clay - Keep dismantling it until you create the one that you are proud of.

Because you will never be proud of the one someone else created for you!

Here are my weekly recommendations:

  1. Creator Spotlight - A newsletter that gives you deep insights into the possibilities of monetizing as a creator

  2. Paul Graham Essays - Mindblowing ideas and insights, not for reel scrollers.

My world and resources:

If you are struggling to get clarity about how to start your career on the internet and you want to understand the fundamental mental models to make your first dollar on the internet, check out - From Scratch

I realized - I priced this course way too high considering it is for beginners who are just starting!

To make it accessible to more and more people I have decided to reduce the price from INR 3000 to INR 1000 only!

You can get it at a discounted price here - Enroll now!

Talk soon

-Akshat