• Nudges
  • Posts
  • Every city changes you

Every city changes you

I just got back to Mumbai yesterday after my 15-day-long European summers

Trust me I missed Indian food!

Every city has its own essence and if you pay attention every city changes you in different ways. It gives you new perspectives, and mental shifts, and some of your thoughts that never made sense in your head start aligning.

Nothing come close to traveling when it comes to expanding your mental horizons.

As I sit down and think about how every city I visited changed me, I want to share it with you.

This is a philosophical newsletter, read it at your own risk.

Here is my mental aftermath of every city I visited:

ROME (Roma)

Roman Architecture and art are a constant reminder of the potential of the human species. It will always remind me of what is possible if we play for the game if we create for the art of creation, and if we just get lost in the work we do at any given moment.

Rome will always remind me of what it takes to run kingdoms when I feel like giving up. The Roman ruins and wars will remind me of the grit, power, loyalty, and discipline our ancestors instilled to shape the world we live in.

It is humbling like nothing else I have seen in my life.

Michelangelo (an Italian artist) will remind me of the fruits of devotion and creativity.

Impossible to leave this city without getting goosebumps.

FLORENCE (Firenze)

Florence has to be one of the most poetic cities I have ever been to.

It instantly reminds you of love, what it takes to love, what it takes to spread love.

It will remind you of the sacrifice you willingly make for love.

It reminds you of the insignificance of beauty without love.

This city will always inspire me to keep getting better at what I do.

It will always inspire me to create art and express my most authentic self.

PARIS

Paris inspires you to play in your own timezone regardless of what people around you are doing.

It taught me - ‘Beauty test patience.’

You cannot experience beauty without commitment and patience.

Parisians taught me how you are at your best when you don’t care about external judgment. Paris made me fall in love.

The city taught me there are no cliches, there are no rights or wrongs!

It taught me beauty brings chaos with it.

The chaos, the negatives makes the beauty shine.

They coexist together in harmony!

NAPLES

“See Naples and die“ they say.

The city, the people, the events, and the act surprise you every moment.

You cannot predict this city.

It has to be the most unpredictable and edgy city I have been to.

Like Mumbai, it has peace in its chaos!

The new chapter begins now!

I am back and I am more inspired than ever before to create content(art) for myself and for Y’all.

Great days are coming fam.

Ciao

-Akshat Tongia